Staying true to your message

Blessing and Burdens:

I’ve learnt that if you stay small you will be criticised, but you don’t follow your own values, as you listen to others.

The blessing is that you feel less exposed, but the burden is you feel you can’t express yourself to be heard.

I’ve learnt that if you say and act who you are, you will be criticised even more.

The blessing is that your being the best version of yourself, but the burden is the larger the ambition and scale of your goals, the more negativity you’ll encounter.

I’ve learnt that if I want to have the blessing of good fortune, that I have to accept the burdens that come with it, and not see it as an unnecessary injustice to be avoided, but just part of the natural order of life.

“Do not lose courage in considering your own imperfections”. Saint Francis de Sales

Dealing with the burdens:

“If you are really effective at what you do, 95% of the things said about you will be negative”. Scott Boras

With negativity sometimes it’s good feedback, but if it goes against your values and doesn’t improve you, then reject it, but don’t fight it.

My aim moving forward is to focus less on documenting the minutiae of each training session. But to remember that I started my profile to show how physical exercise can benefit mental health, and at times I’ve lost focus of that.

Beyond the visual nature of the colour splash against black and white of my photos, it’s a reminder to others that the light needs to come from you. And that alone will lighten the world you interact with. It’s not the opposite way.

My photos, and quotes have been misread as me not being a proper runner, posing, spending to much time at the track, or frustrating people as I focus less on providing data to compare etc.

On social media it’s natural to get drawn into the natural order of runner comparisons, which I have done. However I don’t claim to be the best or the fastest runner, and I have no need to compete against others.

I’ve learnt that the more you look outside yourself for validation, the more unhappy you’ll become. This can be exacerbated on social media due to the large reach of people.

I’ve learnt that accountability for my marathon goals has to come from the self, not from others. If I get to the start of the marathon, my coach and I will know whether I followed my training or not.

“We live in a world where finding fault in others seems to be the favorite blood sport. It has long been the basis of political campaign strategy. It is the theme of much television programming across the world. It sells newspapers. Whenever we meet anyone, our first, almost unconscious reaction may be to look for imperfections”. Henry B. Eyring

4 comments

  1. I’m certain that I piss people off regularly. What I’ve found is that it doesn’t really matter. The best course of action is to be yourself and do what you love. You will offend and upset people no matter what you do. So you might as well do what makes you happy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good post mate! Be confident in the training you’re doing, it’s a waste of time and energy comparing yourself to other runners and keep creating cool pics and great content! People can say what they want but as long as you’re enjoying your running that’s the main thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

